PT | Compact | Jun 22, 2018

PT Compact Will Issue First Compact Privileges July 9

First States Include Missouri, North Dakota, and Tennessee

ALEXANDRIA, Virginia, June 19, 2018 - The Physical Therapy Compact Commission (PT Compact) is pleased to announce that compact privileges will be available for the states of Missouri, North Dakota, and Tennessee starting Monday, July 9, 2018, at 9 a.m. Eastern.

On that date, physical therapists (PTs) and physical therapist assistants (PTAs) whose home state is Missouri, North Dakota, or Tennessee, will be able to go to verify their eligibility and purchase compact privileges for one of these three states.

Once applicable state jurisprudence requirements are met, the process to verify eligibility and purchase compact privileges will take only minutes; reducing time, cost, and paperwork associated with the current remote state licensing process.

The PT Compact anticipates many more of its member states will be ready to begin issuing compact privileges in the very near future. As more states become ready to issue compact privileges, announcements will be made on, the PT Compact email subscription list, and news media.

The PT Compact is an alternative to the standard licensing process to obtain the privilege to practice in a remote state. However, not all PTs and PTAs may be eligible to participate. For more information on the eligibility requirements and rules for compact privilege seekers and holders please go to

Physical Therapy Licensure Compact

The Physical Therapy Licensure Compact (PTCC) is a state-based solution to the challenges of interstate licensure portability for physical therapists (PTs) and physical therapist assistants (PTAs). It will improve patient access to physical therapy services by giving eligible licensees in participating states a faster, less expensive alternative to traditional licensure. There are currently 21 members of the PTCC including Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, and West Virginia.


T.J. Cantwell
Compact Administrator
Physical Therapy Compact Commission